Register of Deeds Statutory Fees

Act. No. 698 Public Acts of 2002
Effective March 31, 2003
MCLA 600.2567

Recording Fees:

For entering and RECORDING any DEED, MORTGAGE, LIS PENDENS, CERTIFIED COPY, or OTHER INSTRUMENT:

FEE CHANGES EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 2016

Regardless of the number of pages, all documents will cost $30.00 to record, this cost is inclusive of Michigan Remonumentation and Register of Deeds Automation fees.

For a document that assigns or discharges more than 1 instrument $3.00 for each instrument assessing or discharged (in addition to the $30.00 flat fee).

To certify a recorded document $5.00; copies remain at $1.00 per page and search fees remain at 50 cents for each year searched with a minimum of $5.00–excepting tract index searches, contact your local Register.

If you have any questions, please contact your local Register of Deeds or refer to MCL 600.2567.

* $4.00 of this fee is deposited to the Michigan State Survey and Remonumentation (MSSR) fund. [The $4.00 MSSR fee is not assessed on Fixture Filings, State Liens, Federal Liens, MESC Liens, State Deeds, Plats or Tax Reversion Documents. MCLA 600.2567a (4)]

SPECIAL NOTE REGARDING Warranty Deeds – Land Contracts:

Pursuant to MCL 211.135, prior to recording, a tax certificate must be obtained from the County Treasurer’s Office for any of the document that contains a warranty clause.  These clauses are usually found on the following documents:

  • Warranty Deed or Any Deed which contains a covenant of warranty
  • Land Contract or Assignment of Land Contract with warranty clause
  • Tax Certificates: $5.00 ( 20 cents for each description of land contained in the certificate but the total amount paid shall not be less than $5.00 )

If mailing the document to our office for recording, we will secure the tax certificate from the County Treasurer’s Office prior to recording it.

Generally speaking, the recording cost for all transaction documents (DEEDS, LAND CONTRACTS, ASSIGNMENTS OF LAND CONTRACTS, AFFIDAVITS, MORTGAGES, MORTGAGE MODIFICATIONS, ETC.), except those with a warranty clause, will be $14 for the first page, and $3 for each additional page.  For those documents with a warranty clause, add $5.00 for the Treasurer’s Certificate.

If mailing the document to our office for recording, we will secure the tax certificate from the County Treasurer’s Office prior to recording it.

Assignment and Discharge Fees:

For any document which assigns or discharges more than one instrument:

$3.00 shall be added to the recording fee for each additional instrument so assigned or discharged.

YOU MAY TELEPHONE US TO DISCUSS ANY QUESTION YOU MAY HAVE ON THE RECORDING PROCESS. (906) 643-7306.